Will you be Obsessed?

I find myself completely stuck on this one. There is a new movie coming out tomorrow that is getting more promotion than a Will Smith movie on the Fourth of July. Clearly you know what I’m talking about. The new energy-packed and beautiful people studded feature starting Idris Elba, Beyonce, and Ali Larter. *cue crazy fast and the furious music* OBSESSED!

So it seems like just like the world is divided about Twitter, it is equally divided about this movie. There are those who can’t believe that anyone would go see this train wreck and then those that can’t wait to get a Cosmo with their girlfriends and see Bey kick some crazy white girl booty! I say it like because for many this movie is digging into some deep racial issues considering the race and the actions of the characters. Is this movie trying to make a statement about the Devil in the Blue Dress? Is this movie pointing out how black women are head snapping, neck rolling, protectors of our men and our families? Is the black man weak and unable to fight his “kryptonite?” Is this merely another attempt to make Beyonce into an actress when we know this is just not her lane? Will this movie be a kick a** portrayal of a crazy affair and a wife pushed too far, race nonwithstanding?

This are all questions that I think have been raised concerning this movie. I admit, initially I was on the “Oh so the white girl is tryna mess up the BLACK man’s family!” and then I had to back down and take off my militant hat and put down the fist. I see if for what it *might* be now and I feel it will be mildly entertaining. I love me some Bey but she’s not an actress. That H-town accent is so strong when she speaks I just imagine gravy dripping from a biscuit. I see cowboy boots and brisket dancing cirles around her head. It’s distracting. As much as Bey gets paid to model her “hair” I’m so shocked to see the hairstyle they chose for her to wear the duration of this role. They really should have done better. But I’m excited! I think at the least the movie will be funny, and I will get to roll my eyes aplenty. And since I’ll take up any occasion to have a drink or two I’m sure I’ll be slightly intoxicated throughout this movie which will allow me to heckle the characters loudly in the theater.

I don’t pay for movies so I will not feel cheated if it doesn’t live up to my low expectations. I may be the only woman (especially black) who doesn’t find Idris just the most hottest man in the world. I don’t and I can’t. He’s not ugly, but I do not fall over myself nor do I double take at seeing him on screen or in person. *shrugs* To each her own, but could you imagine if they would have cast this guy?

djimon-hounsou-calvin-klein-ads-01

That would be Djimon Hounsou, Kimora Lee’s newest beau and the adonis of the movies Amistad, Gladiator, Beauty Shop, etc. I picked him because he’s hot, he’s older, and he’s hot. I mean really hot. There are the classics such as Morris Chestnut, Blair Underwood (although after Madea’s Family Reunion I see him as a wife beater and Bey wouldn’t have gotten a hand in on the white girl), and the rest of the Black Hollywood sexies, but Djimon would have been FIYAH! With that deep accent and eyes that just scream “Give us us free” I would have paid the money to see that movie.

I digress.

So…..will you be Obesessed?

2 Responses

  1. My sisters want to see this movie…I’m always down to laugh at a train wreck!!!!

  2. Yes… I am going to go see it. I’m working out who’s going to pay for it now. LOL

Leave a Reply

